MWFPA Member State Plans To Reopen After Coronavirus Restrictions

Governors are beginning to announce timelines for relaxing strict measures taken to mitigate the coronavirus. Many states are dropping stay-at-home orders beginning May 1, while several states have not yet announced an end to restrictions.

At the federal level, President Trump last week issued guidelines “that will allow governors to take a phased and deliberate approach to reopening their individual states.”

Here are the reopening timelines, as compiled by The Hill, announced so far by MWFPA member states:


Illinois’s stay-at-home order is set to expire April 30. Gov. J.B. Pritzker (D) is coordinating reopening the state with the governors of Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin. Schools are closed for the rest of the school year.


Minnesota’s stay-at-home order expires May 4. Minnesota Gov. Tim Walz (D) allowed some recreational activities, including golfing, boating, fishing, hunting, and hiking, to restart on April 18. The state’s public schools are also closed until May 4.


Wisconsin’s stay-at-home order expires May 26. Gov. Tony Evers (D) has closed K-12 schools for the rest of the school year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.