MWFPA Friday-Weckel Scholarship Winners Selected

The MWFPA Human Resources Committee has selected six candidates to receive Friday-Weckel scholarships for the 2018-19 academic year.  The recipients are as follows:

Carlton A. Friday Scholarship Award

  1. Faith Buhrandt – UW River Falls                  $1,500
  2. Alyssa Demrow – UW Platteville                   $1,500
  3. Sabrina Huebl – UW River Falls                   $1,500

Kenneth G. Weckel Scholarship Award

  1. Jordan McLane – UW Platteville                   $1,500
  2. Allison Raffetto – UW River Falls                  $1,500
  3. Michelle Schmitt – UW River Falls                $1,500

Letters have been sent to each recipient notifying them as to their selection and inviting them to the convention in November.  Those who were not awarded scholarships will also be informed of the Committee’s decision.

The two scholarship programs were created by the MWFPA in honor of leaders in the food processing industry. The Kenneth G. Weckel Scholarship is named for a University of Wisconsin food science professor who contributed greatly to the advancement of vegetable and fruit processing through his research and teaching. The other scholarship is named for Carleton A. Friday whose family founded the Friday Canning Company of New Richmond, Wisconsin.

Scholarship applicants are evaluated on recommendations submitted by an employer in addition to a school faculty member or advisor, and a letter of interest submitted by the applicant. Academic achievement and financial need are also considered.

Thanks to the HR Committee for all their time and effort in reviewing the various applications and selecting the winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *