Rep. Kevin McCarthy Elected GOP House Leader For Next Congress

House Republicans have elected California Republican Kevin McCarthy as minority leader for the next Congress. McCarthy, who currently serves as House majority leader, defeated Ohio Republican Rep. Jim Jordan by a vote of 159 to 43, according to NBC News’ Alex Moe — meaning McCarthy’s win was not unanimous. McCarthy will succeed Paul Ryan as Republican leader. Ryan is retiring when his term expires in January.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.