Hortman Becomes Speaker Of Minnesota House

House Minority Leader Melissa Hortman (DFL-Brooklyn Park) was chosen Thursday by her fellow DFL caucus members to be the next speaker of the Minnesota House.

Hortman, who has held several leadership roles during her time in the House, including assistant majority leader and minority whip, told gathered news media she was not challenged for the speaker position.

DFLers also chose Rep.-elect Ryan Winkler (DFL-Golden Valley) to be their majority leader during the upcoming biennium. Winkler, who was elected to his sixth term Tuesday, served in the House from 2007 until he resigned his seat in 2015 to move overseas with his family.

Rep. Liz Olson (DFL-Duluth) was elected as the majority whip.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.