Farm Bill Conference Committee House Members Announced

On Wednesday members of the Farm Bill conference committee from the House were announced and the roster includes a number of legislators from MWFPA member states.

Among the conferees are House Ag Comm ranking member Collin Peterson (D-Minn), Rep. Tim Walz (D-MN), Rep. Cheri Bustos (D-IL), Rep. Rodney Davis (R-IL), Rep. John Shimkus (R-IL), and Rep. Sean Duffy (R-WI).

Once the Senate appoints its members, the conference committee will meet to work out differences between the House and Senate versions of the Farm Bill. Proposed changes to food stamps loom as the biggest sticking point in negotiations. The House bill would tighten work requirements for recipients of the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or SNAP. The Senate version largely avoided changes to food stamps.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *